Māori › Our Iwi

Our Iwi

There are 2 different waka associated with the Western Bay of Plenty: Takitimu and Mataatua. The Tauranga area has 3 Iwi that are associated with the above waka and located within this area: Ngāti Ranginui, Ngaitērangi and Ngāti Pukenga.  The Te Puke area affiliates to the Te Arawa waka and has 2 Iwi, Tapuika and Waitaha.

Click on the links below to access our local Iwi websites:

Screen Shot 2014 06 06 at 1.51.28 pm         Screen Shot 2014 08 11 at 9.17.30 pm    Screen Shot 2014 08 11 at 9.18.27 pm

Click the map below for a link to all Marae in our region:

Screen Shot 2016 06 21 at 1.50.13 PM